MAES

Mexican American Engineers and Scientists

Mission: to promote ethical leadership, academic achievement, and civic responsibility among Latino engineers and scientists at the California State University, Long Beach.

Vision: MAES Long Beach is the leading Latino engineering organization in Los Angeles known for producing exemplary professionals and for promoting STEM within the community.

History: the Society of Mexican American Engineers and Scientists (MAES) was founded in 1974 for the purpose of increasing the number of Mexican Americans and other Hispanics in the technical and scientific fields. Originally, the focus was on the professions, but as the organization grew, so did the scope of its activities and interests. The Society now represents the Mexican American community in the all-important technological arena on issues related to education, economics, environment and research. As a mature organization with a national membership representing all the engineering and scientific disciplines, the society now has turned its focus on the youth of our people. Many of its programs, with the financial help of members, companies and government agencies, are now directed at increasing the number of students at all grade levels who will study and prepare to enter our technical professions.

The Long Beach Professional Chapter was formed by Engineers from McDonnell Douglas Aircraft, now, the Boeing Company for the purpose of promoting and assisting California State University, Long Beach University students reach their goals in Engineering and Science.

In 1999, the Southbay Professional Chapter and the Long Beach Professional Chapters merged to become the Long Beach Professional Chapter, as it now stands. Out of this, the CSU, Long Beach Student Chapter was born.

We strive to:
– Provide leadership to help the student advance his/her academic, social, and professional objectives.
– Instill in the student of CSULB the desire to improve oneself, as well as others, scholastically, professionally, and socially.
– Provide the student with opportunities for association and interaction with possible future employers, community members, and CSULB faculty and administration.

General Inquiries: info@csulbmaes.org

Position First Last Email
Co-President Hernan Blas hblas@csulbmaes.org
Co-President Abraham Calderon acalderon@csulbmaes.org
Vice President Lyka Gutierrez lgutierrez@csulbmaes.org
Treasurer Jorge Ortez jortez@csulbmaes.org
Secretary Steven Mendoza smendoza@csulbmaes.org
Academic Chair Samuel Basurto sbasurto@csulbmaes.org
Director of Development Leslie Rios lrios@csulbmaes.org
Director of Information Technology Anthony Ramirez aramirez@csulbmaes.org
Director of Marketing Samantha Ruano sruano@csulbmaes.org
Director of Membership Kevin Gomez kgomez@csulbmaes.org
Science Extravanganza Chair Diana Castro dcastro@csulbmaes.org
Director of Recruitment Cynthia Lopez clopez@csulbmaes.org
Director of Recruitment Mario Martinez mariomartinez@csulbmaes.org
Director of Recruitment Marcos Barajas mbarajas@csulbmaes.org
Director of Operations Osiel Ramirez oramirez@csulbmaes.org
Director of Outreach Edgar Garcia egarcia@csulbmaes.org
Director of Outreach Jarelly Leandro jleandro@csulbmaes.org
MAES Ambassador Iliana Galicia igalicia@csulbmaes.org
Director of Junior Chapters VACANT
Historian Rebecca Moreno rmoreno@csulbmaes.org